GCGC
CONFERENCE: Global Webinar

16 April 2020

Day 1: Thursday 16 April

Click here to download the programme

09.00 (AEST) Welcome:
Jennifer Hill (Monash University and ECGI)

Panel 1: The differential health, economic and financial effects of the COVID-19 crisis
Moderator: Jennifer Hill (Monash University and ECGI)
Panelists:
Malcolm Edey (The University of Sydney, Reserve Bank of Australia, OECD Financial Markets
Committee, Basel Committee on Banking Supervision),
John Laker (ING Australia, International Monetary Fund (IMF), Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA)
Diana Nicholson (King & Wood Mallesons)
Stephen Turner (Monash Biomedicine Discovery Institute)

Panel 2: The impact of the COVID-19 crisis on boards of directors and regulators
Moderator: Jennifer Hill (Monash University and ECGI)
Panelists:
Priscilla Bryans (Herbert Smith Freehills)
Sylvia Falzon (Suncorp Group, Regis Healthcare and Premier Investments Ltd)
Kevin McCann (Telix Pharmaceuticals Ltd, Macquarie Bank)
John Price (Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC))

11:00 (AEST) Break
11:30 (AEST)
10:30 JST/ KST
Welcome:
Ok-Rial Song (Seoul National University School of Law)
Tomotaka Fujita (Graduate Schools for Law and Politics, University of Tokyo)

Business continuity planning during the COVID-19 crisis
Tomoyo Matsui (Graduate Schools for Law and Politics, University of Tokyo)

Prevention of pandemic and CSR in times of COVID-19
Gen Goto (Graduate Schools for Law and Politics, University of Tokyo)

The COVID-19 pandemic crisis as a MAC
Kyung-Hoon Chun (Seoul National University School of Law)

COVID-19 crisis and family succession
Woochan Kim (Korea University and ECGI)

Discussants: Jungyeun Kim (Incheon National University), Sang Yop Kang (Peking University and ECGI), Jon Jungbien Moon (Korea University), Kon Sik Kim (Seoul National University and ECGI), Joon Hyug Chung (Seoul National University) Hidefusa Iida (University of Tokyo), Takahito Kato (University of Tokyo), Hiroyuki Kansaku (University of Tokyo), Hideaki Miyajima (Waseda University)

13:30 (AEST)
12:30 JST/ KST
Break
14:00 (AEST)
12:00 GMT+8/CST 

 

 

Welcome:
Luh Luh Lan (National University of Singapore and ECGI)

Covid-19: The start of history for asian corporate law?
Dan Puchniak (National University of Singapore)

Asset managers and private entrepreneurial activities post-COVID-19
Johan Sulaeman (National University of Singapore)

Role of the board in times of crisis and disruption
Luh Luh Lan (National University of Singapore and ECGI)

Capital requirements, share buybacks and resilience
Hans Tjio (National University of Singapore)

Is the glass half full or half empty? Corporate social responsibilities in crisis times
Weina Zhang (National University of Singapore)

 

Welcome:
Li Jin (Peking University)

Transparency and information disclosure: accounting irregularities of listed overseas Chinese firms
Liyan Wang (Peking University)

Corporate Governance after COVID-19
Li Jin (Peking University)

Pursuing the new order for Chinese capital market
Li Guo (Peking University Law School)

16:00 (AEST)
14:00 GMT+8/CST
Break
16:30 (AEST)
09:30 IDT
Welcome:
Assaf Hamdani (Tel Aviv University and ECGI)

Panel 1: Startups, scaleups and governments
Moderator: Assaf Hamdani (Tel Aviv University and ECGI)
Panelists:
Eugene Kandel (Hebrew University and ECGI)
Kerem Nevo (Wix.com)
Georg Ringe (University of Hamburg and ECGI)
Steven D. Solomon (Berkeley University and ECGI)

Panel 2: Support in time of crisis: Directors’ duties
Moderator: Assaf Hamdani (Tel Aviv University and ECGI)
Panelists:
Amir Licht (IDC Herzliya and ECGI)
Kristin van Zwieten (University of Oxford and ECGI)
Roberto Bonsignore (Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton)
Ian Ramsay (University of Melbourne)
Robin Dicker QC (South Square)

18:30 (AEST)
11:30 IDT
Break
19:00 (AEST)
11:00 CEST
Welcome:
Tobias Tröger (Leibniz Institute SAFE, Goethe University Frankfurt and ECGI)

Panel 1: Central Bank responses: Transmission mechanisms
Moderator: Tobias Tröger (Leibniz Institute SAFE, Goethe University Frankfurt and ECGI)
Panelists:
Isabel Schnabel (European Central Bank)
Lucrezia Reichlin (London Business School and ECGI)

COVID-19 and financial stability 3.0: Try equity – risk sharing for companies, large and small
Jan Pieter Krahnen (Leibniz Institute SAFE, Goethe University Frankfurt and ECGI)Discussants: Yishay Yafeh (Hebrew University of Jerusalem and ECGI), Andreas Engert (Freie Universität Berlin and ECGI)

21:00 (AEST)
13:00 CEST
Break
Welcome:
Bo Becker (Swedish House of Finance and ECGI)

Panel 1: The Swedish COVID-19 policy response
Moderator: Bo Becker (Swedish House of Finance and ECGI)
Panelists:
Johan Giesecke, (Karolinska Institute, Public Health Agency of Sweden)
Anna Kinberg Batra (Moderate Party of Sweden)
Per Krusell (Institute of International Economics, Stockholm University)

Panel 2: Corporate governance and stakeholders in the crisis
Moderator: Per Strömberg (Swedish House of Finance and ECGI)
Panelists:
Liv Forhaug (Martin & Servera)
Petra Hedengran (Investor AB)
Martin Linder (Unionen)

23:30 (AEST)
14:30 BST
Break
 15.30 Welcome:
Colin Mayer(University of Oxford and ECGI)

Panel 1: Supporting SMEs during the pandemic
Moderator: Claudia Custodio (Imperial College and ECGI)
Panelists:
Diana Bonfim (Bank of Portugal)
Karen Mills (Harvard Business School)
Juanita Gonzalez Uribe (LSE)
Ramana Nanda (Imperial College)

Panel 2: Business responses to the pandemic
Moderator: David Kershaw (LSE and ECGI)
Panelists:
Renée Adams (University of Oxford and ECGI)
Mary Johnstone Louis (University of Oxford)
Colin Mayer (University of Oxford and ECGI)
Judith Stroehle (University of Oxford)

Panel 3: Corporate law during and after the pandemic
Moderator: David Kershaw (LSE and ECGI)
Panelists:
John Armour (University of Oxford and ECGI)
Luca Enriques (University of Oxford and ECGI)
Maribel Saez (Universidad Autonoma de Madrid)

02:00 (AEST)
17:00 BST
Break
Welcome:
Jeffrey N. Gordon (Columbia Law School and ECGI)

I. Government responses to the pandemic crisis

The Fed to the rescue: Unprecedented scope; stretched authority
Lev Menand (Columbia Law School)

The role of the Fed in containing the fallout: made central but now exposed
Kathryn Judge (Columbia Law School and ECGI)

What Wall Street got from the CARES Act
John C. Coffee (Columbia Law School and ECGI)

How to help small businesses survive COVID-19
Todd Baker (Columbia Law School)II. Private responses to the pandemic crisis

COVID-19 as a force majeure in corporate transactions
Eric Talley (Columbia Law School)III. Enduring questions through the pandemic lens

Corporate finance in the age of shadow banking
Katharina Pistor (Columbia Law School and ECGI)

Short selling and short selling disclosure in a pandemic
Joshua Mitts (Columbia Law School)

Shareholder value, systematic stewardship, and the missing government
Jeffrey N. Gordon (Columbia Law School and ECGI)

04:15 (AEST)
14:15 EDT
Break
04:30 (AEST)
14:30 EDT
Welcome:
John Coates (Harvard University and ECGI)

COVID-19, corporate finance stress, and bankruptcy Macro costs of clogged bankruptcy courts?
Mark Roe (Harvard Law School and ECGI)

Forecasting bankruptcy court congestion
Benjamin Iverson (BYU Marriott School of Business)

Bailouts to bankruptcy
Ed Morrison (Columbia Law School)

The case against (ordinary) bankruptcy
David Skeel (Penn School of Law and ECGI)

The case against CARES
Luigi Zingales (Chicago Booth Business School and ECGI)

Current bankruptcy practice and outdated bankruptcy law
Alan Schwartz (Yale Law School)

Discussants: Adi Sunderam (Harvard Business School), Kristin W. Mugford (Harvard Business School)

06:30 (AEST)
16:30 EDT
Break
07:00 (AEST)
14:00 PDT
Welcome:
Michael Callahan (Stanford University)

Managing through the pandemic: Silicon Valley firms general counsels’ perspective
In conversation with Louise Pentland (PayPal, Hitachi, Nokia)

COVID-19 and insider trading in and out of government
Jonathan Macey (Yale Law School and ECGI)
Discussant: Mariana Pargendler (FGV Law School, São Paulo and ECGI)

08:20 (AEST)
15:20 PDT
Open Q&A session
Moderator: Marco Becht (Université libre de Bruxelles and ECGI)
08:40 (AEST)
15:40 PDT
Wrap up and concluding comments:
Ron Gilson (Stanford University)
Luca Enriques (University of Oxford and ECGI)
Marco Becht (Université libre de Bruxelles and ECGI)
Jennifer Hill (Monash University and ECGI)
09:00 (AEST)
16:00 PDT
Ends

Visit our partner site: partner-logo

Designed By Astwood

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Sending

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?